Left arrow

What is the Ascendant or Rising Sign in Astrology?

Right arrow

In a birth chart, the Ascendant or Rising Sign is the Zodiac Sign rising over the Earth’s eastern horizon at the time and place when person is born. It is necessary to have a precise time of birth to achieve an accurate birth chart. As the Ascendant is located on the cusp of the first house of your horoscope, its role is massive, it can give a lot of information about you. The Sun Sign determines your personality and your way of expressing yourself. The Moon is all about your feelings and emotional responses.

The Ascendant is responsible of your appearance, your body strengths and weaknesses. It is related to a part of the body and makes an impact on your health and well-being. The Ascendant is the face you present to others, it will reflect your abilities to cope with people and situations. With the position of the Sun, the Moon and the Ascendant, the astrologer can already have a pretty good idea of a person’s character. The planets in conjunction with the Ascendant will be more significant than the others, they will make more of an impact on you and on your behavior.

Aspects to the Ascendant will lead to major effects. The Ascendant is supposed to take over the Sun sign in the second part of life. The Ascendant will remain the same for life but the Ascendant will change each year in the Solar Return. Some people change location for their birthday, in order to benefit from another Ascendant for the coming months. Given that the Ascendant is on the same axis as the Descendant, (in opposition) it will reveal the potentials and the dynamics of any relationship. Ascendants compatibility is therefore important as it can help understanding the energies at work between the two people.

Keywords for the Ascendant?

Fire Ascendants like Aries, Leo and Sagittarius are energetic and optimistic.

Aries Rising: outgoing, blunt, impulsive.

Leo Rising: sporty, independent, passionate.

Sagittarius Rising: independent, outspoken, active.

Earth Ascendants like Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn are practical and grounded.

Taurus Rising: sincere, reliable, kindhearted.

Virgo Rising: thoughtful, diplomatic, active mind.

Capricorn Rising: ambitious, cautious, persistent.

Air Ascendants like Gemini, Libra and Aquarius are sociable and friendly.

Gemini Rising: curious, good verbal skills, always busy.

Libra Rising: neat, organized, like to be center of attention.

Aquarius Rising: eccentric, philanthropist, universal friend.

Water Ascendants like Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces are intuitive and emotional.

Cancer Rising: caring, emotional, family orientated.

Scorpio Rising: suspicious, determined, strong willed.

Pisces Rising: idealist, dreamer, secretive.

iPsychic screen shots

Psychics Live ReadingIPsychic

IPsychic lauch icon
Google play link
Apple store link
Feather decoration

follow us

Follow US